How do I learn how to build relationships?

Disclaimer: This post no longer reflects the focus of this blog.

Q: How do I learn how to build relationships when socializing doesn’t come naturally for me?

A: I look for people to learn from who’ve succeeded at solving that problem, which I’ve found that through reading Autistic blogs. I’m encouraged by those who’ve found satisfying relationships online when face-to-face socializing doesn’t work.

Reading blogs is like learning a card game with the players’ cards laid down on the table. Blogs make explicit the social cues that I can’t normally decipher.

I’m still figuring out how to share my inner life in a way that others might find interesting. I’ll stop her for now.

Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “How do I learn how to build relationships?

  1. Hello Autism Observer,

    I was notified this morning that you had begun following a blog that was created a couple of years ago as a test project for a local community – UUSRF. The blog was a test project and I had not realized it was still live until this morning.

    I’ve deleted the blog this afternoon because it is not an active site. I want to let you know that if you are interested in following an active Autism blog that I created you can find my older blog, Wisdom Tara – http://www.wisdomtara.com – which I will be phasing out soon, and my new blog and website Aspien At Heart – http://www.aspienatheart.com.

    Aspien At Heart was created early this year to really be a voice among many strong autistic women that supports, encourages and advocates for us.

    Wishing you well,

    Nellie

    Like

    • Hi Nellie,

      Thanks for commenting and for contributing to the Autistic community.

      Sometimes I follow inactive blogs in case they start up again. In this case it paid off by leading me to your blogs. I’ve just read your archives and am now following your blogs.

      Judy (An Autism Observer)

      Like

Leave a Reply

